Month: April 2013

  • The drive to the lady’s house was beautiful.  We drove almost to Durango and then took a right on County Road 302 that heads to the Durango airport. And there about a mile down the road we turned onto Heart Lane.  What a beautiful name for a little lane in the country.  We followed the lane to the end and knocked on a country house.  We were greeted by a small elderly lady.  Her  name was Mary and she showed us into her home and we were introduced to a woman who had over the course of her life earned many ribbons and certificates riding a horse….Dressage…I think it is…..She had quite the story to tell, she didn’t start competing until she was 37, after her husband had retired from the military and they could settle down in one place.  We were there to buy some of her vintage clothes and we did, but we made a new friend, a woman who was writing her memoirs, a woman who by the looks of her photo wall in one room, had quite the history and family (one story she told us was that her grandmother was a bootlegger in the 1920′s!).    We were there for an hour listening to her stories.  Listening to the echoes of her past.  Listening to the wind as it howled around the little house. 
    Where do the years go in a person’s life?  They just blow by, like the wind today, they just blow by and they go so fast……

  •   Another post…………..this is definitely a RECORD!!!  BUT I just had to post these pictures….so after it snowed today, it hailed and rained again…..and what happened on the roof outside my living room window, was this…..sheets of snow hanging off the roof!  Amazing, beautiful and of course they only lasted an hour or so.  It is a reminder to keep your eyes open….all the time….for beauty is definitely in the details (as my children, now adults love to remind me!).  And they are so right!!!  Details, beauty, it’s all there, but if you don’t stop and look you will MISS it!!!

  • Yesterday California and Arizona blew through here.  The dust was so horrible that it was seeping in through any crack in the windows, doors or walls that it could come through.  We were practically choking on it.  Today we woke up to the beautiful sound of dripping………….it was raining and soaking everything down.  Now it is snowing!  It is so true here in New Mexico, if you don’t like the weather, just wait a few minutes, or hours, it is bound to change! 

    So, what a welcome relief today is after yesterday…. and we can only imagine the wonderful snowfall the mountains are getting.  How we need the snow in the mountains for Spring run-off to fill our rivers that feed our irrigation ditches that water our gardens and lawns in the summer.  For those of us who rely heavily on our big gardens for food for the rest of the year we are thankful.

  •    As I sit………

    I’m sitting at my dining room table and its full to overflowing of things.  Things to sell on Etsy.  Things to price, things to measure, things to take pictures of.  Things, everywhere……… things.  I feel at times like I’m drowning.  At times I feel overwhelmed.  Things will do that to me you know.  Then, I think, like I said to Doyle this morning, I just want to go through every room, every closet and every drawer and box up everything and throw it all away.  And so, I start……I go through a closet, I go through a drawer and I go through drawers, and what happens?  It ends up on my table…….a boatload of stuff to get rid of, throw away, send to recycle, send to thrift store, send to consignment, send somewhere……………. 

    I am getting the guest room/ Etsy room ready for our new house guest.  Her name is Megan.  She will move in on Sunday evening.  She will live with us for six weeks.  I want her room to be ready for her.  I don’t want her to live amongst my “stuff”.  I don’t want her to have to deal with my crap.  So…………I work hard, and I move things around.  I am making ready for a guest.  Someone who God has sent to us for a time and for a season.  That’s how it is with life.  Things come and go.  People come in and out of our lives for a time.  God in His grace, sends us those we need, who need us…….I will never know all of the whys here on earth……why is he sending this person here now?  The timing isn’t right, I’m too busy, I don’t have room, I will have to change how I do things…..always excuses.  But………God’s timing is always perfect, always right.  And HIS GRACE is always just right for the time of NOW.