July 15, 2013

  •   Our little “family reunion” is now a memory.  Funny how fast time goes when you’re having fun!  I think it’s safe to say that the kids had an awesome time playing and the parents and grandparents are tired!     I”m telling you, I have more respect for my mother-in-law every time we get together and our family is larger!    She could handle all 15 grandchildren and just as many or more adult children and spouses in one summer (two weeks – six weeks usually every couple years) better than anyone I know!  Our grown kids have the best memories from those times and I should say, Doyle and I do, as time erases the memory of our crying kids and tired bodies!    We did cram a lot into our week and we are happy that everyone could be together this past week.  We had a lot of fun.  We didn’t just play though, the guys built a shed for Pete and Heather, and Erin made the linens for her baby crib.  She can sew faster than anyone I know!  WOW!!  Three crib sheets, a bumper pad, a dust ruffle and a quilt!  In three days!
    Now, it’s back to our normal routine.  I ended the week with a nice breakfast with my oldest son, Christopher, a great way to end a perfect week!

    Tomorrow we head off to Colorado (about an hour north of here), for a mountain wedding.  It should be a fun time.  The couple is getting married at 10:30 in the morning.  It’s probably a good thing, as the rain, which is coming down every afternoon and evening, shouldn’t be a problem yet.  So romance in the summer and a wedding in the Colorado mountains!  Lovely indeed!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *